Galway Public Library, Library Board Meeting Wednesday, June 21, 2023

In attendance: Board of Trustees: Cate La Barre, Fred Baily, Santina Florio, Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll, Kat McCleneghen, Sue Wemple; Library Director Deb Flint.

Meeting called to order by Cate La Barre at 6:28 p.m.

Public Comment

Sam Doubleday, OMNI Renewables

Minutes of Prior Meetings:

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Fred Baily, to accept the minutes of 5/17/23. Vote: Yes 6, No 0, Abstain 1 - Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Jane Behrens, to approve expenditures listed in the registers below:

BSNB General Checking - 5/16/23 - 5/26/23 BSNB General Checking - 5/27/23 - 6/9/23 BSNB General Checking - 6/10/23 - 6/23/23 Operating Grants Checking - 5/27/23 - 6/9/23 Visa - 5/17/23 - 6/19/23 Receipts Log - 5/10/23 - 6/14/23

Vote: Yes 7, No 0 - Motion carried.

Director's Report

Correspondence

Friends' Report

GPL Foundation Report

Standing Committees

Buildings and Grounds Finance Personnel Long-Range Plan Public Relations

Unfinished Business

New Business

Election Results

June 7, 2023 Galway Public Library Election Results:

A total of 82 votes were cast. 21 were absentee ballot votes.

Motion: <u>Sue Wemple</u> Second: <u>Fred Baily</u>

to accept the Proposition and Board Member Election results, which were as follows:

Shall the budget for the Galway Public Library for the fiscal year 2023-2024 be approved, and the amount of \$243,530 be raised for such purpose by taxes levied on all the taxable real property within the Galway Central School District?

Yes Votes: 71 No Votes: 11 PASSED

There was one vacancy on the Board of Trustees for a five-year term of office effective July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2028. The seat was vacated by Santina Florio, whose term of office began on July 1, 2018 and will expire on June 30, 2023. Santina Florio ran and was re-elected.

Santina Florio — 79 votes — ELECTED to 5-year term.

Write-In Candidates Votes: Paul Pribis - 1 vote

Voted aye to approve the motion: 7 Yes 0 No

Motion Passed: X Yes ___ No

Nominating Committee

Motion by Kat McCleneghen, second by Fred Baily, to appoint Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll and Sue Wemple as members of the Nominating Committee, charged with nominating Board members for the positions of President, Vice President and Secretary, at the July 19, 2024, meeting.

Vote: Yes 7, No 0 - Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Santina Florio

Director Vacation

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Jane Behrens, to approve the Director's request to use the following vacation days: 6/27, 7/7 to 7/10 and 7/24 to 7/26.

Vote: Yes 7, No 0 - Motion carried.

Document Donation

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to accept a donation from Jim Boykin of a Joseph Henry 1862 document, signed as Secretary of the Smithsonian. Vote: Yes 7, No 0 - Motion carried.

Public Comment

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Kat McCleneghen, to adjourn the meeting at 7:36 p.m.

Vote: Yes 7, No 0 - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Santina Florio, Secretary