# Galway Public Library, Library Board Meeting

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

In attendance: Board of Trustees: Cate La Barre, Fred Baily, Santina Florio, Jim Hodsoll, Arlene Rhodes, Sue Wemple; Friends of the Library representative Ardeth Deay, Library Director Deb Flint. Absent: Jane Behrens

Meeting called to order by Cate La Barre at 6:30 p.m.

#### **Public Comment**

#### Minutes of Prior Meeting:

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Arlene Rhodes, to accept the minutes of 5/18/22. Vote: Yes 5, No 0, Abstain 1 - Motion carried.

# **Treasurer's Report**

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Arlene Rhodes, to approve expenditures listed in the registers below:

BSNB General Checking - 5/14/22 - 5/27/22 BSNB General Checking - 5/28/22 - 6/10/22 Operating Grants Checking - 5/28/22 - 6/10/22 Visa Bill Online Payment - 5/22/22 - 6/13/22 Receipts Log - 5/12/22 - 6/7/22 Petty Cash - May 2022

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

# **Director's Report**

# **Correspondence**

# Friends' Report

# **Standing Committees**

Buildings and Grounds Finance Personnel Long-Range Plan Public Relations

# **Unfinished Business**

**Volunteer Reception** 

#### **New Business**

Reserve Fund

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Sue Wemple, to direct Jim Hodsoll to open a new account, designated as the Reserve Fund, at BSNB.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Arlene Rhodes, that undesignated donations are henceforth to be deposited into the Reserve Fund.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### **Transfer Funds for Trees**

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Arlene Rhodes, to approve transferring \$1513.31 from the Capital Fund into the Operating Fund, for the purpose of paying for the new trees from Barnes Landscaping.

Vote Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### Nominating Committee

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Fred Baily, to appoint Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll and Sue Wemple as members of the Nominating Committee, charged with nominating Board members for the positions of President, Vice President and Secretary at the July 20, 2022, meeting.

Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried,

#### **Election Results**

June 8, 2022 Galway Public Library Election Results:

A total of 81 votes were cast. 21 were absentee ballot votes.

Motion: <u>Sue Wemple</u>

Second: Fred Baily

to accept the Proposition election results: Shall the budget for the Galway Public Library for the fiscal year 2022-2023 be approved and the amount of \$216,135 be raised for such purpose by taxes levied on all the taxable real property within the Galway Central School District?

YES VOTES: 75	NO VOTES: 6	PASSED
Voted aye to approve	e the motion: <u>6</u> Yes	<u>0</u> No
Motion Passed: X	_ Yes No	

Board Member Election: There were two vacancies on the Board of Trustees for five-year terms of office effective July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2027. The two (2) seats were vacated by Jane Behrens and Arlene Rhodes, whose terms of office began on July 1, 2017 and will expire on June 30, 2022. Arlene Rhodes did not seek re-election. Jane Behrens ran for re-election. Katherine McCleneghen ran for election.

Motion: <u>Sue Wemple</u>

Second: Fred Baily

to accept Board Member election results: Jane Behrens - 75 votes - ELECTED to 5-year term.

Katherine McCleneghen – 77 votes – ELECTED to 5-year term.

Write-In Candidates Votes: None

Voted aye to approve the motion: <u>6</u> Yes <u>0</u> No

Motion Passed: X Yes \_\_\_\_\_ No

# **Director Request**

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Jim Hodsoll, to approve the Director's request to use a personal day on 6/21, and vacation days on 6/22 - 6/23.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### **Public Comment**

#### **Executive Session**

**Director Evaluation** 

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Jim Hodsoll, to go into executive session at 7:49 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the director's annual performance evaluation.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Sue Wemple, to end executive session at 8:07 p.m.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Arlene Rhodes, to adjourn the meeting at 8:11 p.m.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Santina Florio, Secretary