Galway Public Library, Library Board Meeting Wednesday, July 21, 2021

In attendance: Board of Trustees: Cate La Barre, Fred Baily, Santina Florio, Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll, and Sue Wemple; Library Director Deb Flint; Friends of the Library representative, Ardeth Deay. Absent: Arlene Rhodes.

Meeting called to order by Cate La Barre at 6:33 p.m.

Public Comment

Minutes of Prior Meetings:

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to accept the minutes of 6/16/21. Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Jane Behrens, to approve expenditures listed in the registers below:

BSNB General Checking - 6/15/21 - 6/25/21
BSNB General Checking - 6/26/21 - 7/9/21
BSNB General Checking - 7/10/21 - 7/23/21
Operating Grants Checking - 6/15/21 - 7/9/21
Operating Grants Checking - 7/10/21 - 7/23/21
Capital Savings - 6/15/21 - 7/9/21
New Library Checking - 6/15/21 - 7/9/21
Visa Bill Online Payment - 6/23/21
Receipts Log - 6/10/21 - 7/15/21
Petty Cash Register - June

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Director's Report

<u>Correspondence</u>

Friends' Report

Standing Committees

Buildings and Grounds Finance Personnel Long-Range Plan Public Relations

Ad Hoc Committees

New Building Foundation

Unfinished Business

New Business

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Sue Wemple, to accept the donation of a regional historical map.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Jane Behrens, to return \$100,400 to Capital One Account.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Organizational Meeting:

Nominations/Election of Officers

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Sue Wemple, to direct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as presented:

President: Cate La Barre Vice President: Fred Baily Secretary: Santina Florio

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Committee Chair & Member Appointments

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Fred Baily, to approve the appointments as presented:

- Finance: Chair, Jim Hodsoll
- Long Range Planning: Chair, Arlene Rhodes
- Personnel: Chair, Jane Behrens; Members: Cate La Barre, Jim Hodsoll
- Public Relations: Chair, Santina Florio
- Building and Grounds: Chair, Sue Wemple
- Ad hoc, New Building: Chair, Fred Baily

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to approve the Claims Committee Appointments as presented:

- Cate La Barre
- Sue Wemple

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Sue Wemple, to approve the Appointment of Chief Financial Officer & Library Treasurer as follows:

- CFO Jim Hodsoll
- Treasurer Erik Roy

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Director Oath

Sign Conflict of Interest Policy

Fund Repository & Bank Signatories

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Santina Florio, to make Cate La Barre and Sue Wemple Primary signatories, and Jim Hodsoll and Fred Baily Secondary signatories, for Ballston Spa National Bank accounts.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Santina Florio, to make Jim Hodsoll and Fred Baily signatories for fund transfers for Capital One account.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Select Official Newspaper

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Sue Wemple, to select the Daily Gazette as the official Newspaper of Record.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Story Quilt

Director Vacation Request

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to approve the Director's request for the following vacation days: 7/30 - 7/31 and August 8/9 - 8/10 and 8/23 - 8/26.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Water System

Current Year DLD Application

Public Comment

Executive Session

Motion by Sue Wemple, second by Jane Behrens, to go into executive session at 8:18 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the Director's Annual Review.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Jane Behrens, to end executive session at 8:43 p.m.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Sue Wemple, to adjourn the meeting at 8:44 p.m. Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Santina Florio, Secretary