# Galway Public Library, Library Board Meeting Wednesday, June 17, 2020

(Remote meeting per NYS Health Department recommendations on COVID-19)

Attendees: Cate La Barre, Fred Baily, Santina Florio, Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll, Arlene Rhodes and Library Director Deb Flint. Also in attendance: Sue Wemple - to be appointed to Board effective July 1, 2020.

Meeting called to order by Cate La Barre at 5:02 p.m.

#### Minutes of Prior Meetings:

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Jane Behrens, to accept the minutes of 5/20/20. Vote: Yes 6, No 0, Abstain 1 - Motion carried.

## Treasurer's Report

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Jane Behrens, to approve expenditures listed in the registers below:

BSNB General Checking - 5/19/20 - 5/29/20

BSNB General Checking - 6/1/20 - 6/12/20

BSNB General Checking - 6/15/20 - 6/17/20

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Jane Behrens, to approve Receipts Log - May to June 2020

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

## **Director's Report**

## <u>Correspondence</u>

# **Standing Committees**

**Buildings and Grounds** 

Finance

Personnel

Long-Range Plan

**Public Relations** 

## **Ad Hoc Committees**

New Building

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Arlene Rhodes, that the application for payment from Current Electrical Systems for \$14,024.70 be paid.

Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Jim Hodsoll, to approve quote (02192020-SVCJP-1) and sign the service contract dated 2/19/20 from Culligan Water. Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### **Unfinished Business**

Appoint Sub-Clerk

Motion by Arlene Rhodes, second by Fred Baily, to approve the appointment of Lois Hammond to the position of Sub-Clerk effective 6/1/20 at a rate of \$11.80 per hour on an as needed basis.

Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### **New Business**

## **Accept Election Results**

Motion to Accept the June 9, 2020 Galway Public Library Board Member Election Results:

There were two vacancies on the Board of Trustees for five-year terms of office effective July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2025.

One five-year seat was vacated by Jim Hodsoll who was elected to a term beginning on June 13, 2019, to fulfill the seat vacated by the resignation of Donna Erickson on June 21, 2018, whose term of office began on June 16, 2016, and whose term will end June 30, 2020.

The second five-year seat was vacated by Sue Wemple who was appointed on October 31, 2019, to the seat vacated by the resignation of Bridget Torres on September 15, 2019, who was elected to a term beginning on June 13, 2019, to fulfill the seat vacated by the resignation of Kayla Dodds on August 17, 2018, whose term of office began on June 14, 2017, and whose term will end June 30, 2020.

Motion: <u>Jane Behrens</u>

Second: Fred Baily

to accept Board Member election results:

Jim Hodsoll - 1213 votes – ELECTED to 5-year term.

Sue Wemple – 1285 votes – ELECTED to 5-year term.

Write-In Candidates Votes: Peter Bradley – 2; Vickie Weaver – 2; Bradley Rooke – 2; Garry Smith – 1; Tracy Smith – 1; Reese Horta – 1; Deb Flint – 1; John Sutton – 1; Kathryn LaFave – 1; Karen Hart – 1; Nadine DesPres - 1

Voted aye to approve the motion: 6 Yes 0 No

Motion Passed: 6 Yes 0 No

**Director Vacation Days** 

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to approve the request by the Library Director for the following vacation days: 6/8-6/9, 6/12-6/13, 6/15-6/16, 6/18-6/29

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Appointment of Nominating Committee

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Santina Florio, to appoint Jane Behrens, Jim Hodsoll and Arlene Rhodes as members of the Nominating Committee, charged with nominating Board members for the positions of President, Vice President and Secretary at the July 15, 2020, meeting.

Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

#### **Executive Session**

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Jim Hodsoll, to go into executive session at 6:12 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the director's annual performance evaluation. Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Jane Behrens, to return to regular session at 6:22 p.m.

Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Motion by Fred Baily, second by Jane Behrens, to adjourn the meeting at 6:28 p.m. Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Santina Florio, Secretary